top of page
  • Writer's pictureJo-Musulyn

2020: The Year of Adapting


Lately I’ve been thinking about the word “Adapting,” we’re all familiar with this eight letter word. By definition, adapting is to adjust one’s self to different conditions, environment, etc.


Adapting is a normal thing in life, right? In my own life I’ve had to adapt to new situations. For example, in December of 2018 I moved to Delaware after living in New York since I was a baby. Later I transferred to Delaware State University in the fall of 2019, I had to adjust to my new school environment.


You see, as human beings we have to adapt in order to survive, it’s in our nature. However, I never would have imagined adapting to a global pandemic. The thought of it sounds crazy but unfortunately this is our reality.


I remember in late January of 2020 I was sitting in my 9:30am university seminar class, where Mrs. Perrine gave us a lecture about adaptability. She wrote the word “Adaptability” in big letters on white board,


“We have to adapt all the time,” Mrs. Perrine said.


She went on to explain the importance of being an adaptable person, we have to adapt in order to survive in this world that we live in.


Fast forward to March, we’re in a pandemic and sadly we are still in this pandemic. Covid-19 forced us to adapt in so many ways, we are doing almost everything virtually, wearing a mask while going to public places and the hardest adjustment of all, social distancing from our loved ones.


As a college student myself, I was forced to adapt to a new learning environment. I went from being a student in a classroom setting, to being an online student where my higher education learning took place in the four walls of my bedroom. The sudden transition to remote learning was difficult to say the least.


Could it be that back in January Mrs. Perrine’s lecture about adapting foreshadowed the pandemic and the drastic changes it would bring in our lives? Or was it simply a coincidence? This year showed us how life is unpredictable, things can change in a blink of an eye without our permission. Life itself is about adjusting to change, the year of 2020 has truly shown us what it means to adapt


38 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page